The McDowell Endowment Reaches $1 Million

Anonymous Donor Contributes $59,595 to The McDowell Endowment
Gift Brings Endowment to $1 Million

(April 2017) – A generous anonymous donor has contributed $59,595 to The McDowell Endowment, bringing the fund balance to $1 million. The Endowment was established in 1995 by a group of local residents as a permanent endowment and resource for charitable efforts that benefit the entire county.

The Endowment's Advisory Board is in the midst of a campaign to grow the endowment to $1.5 million. "This generous, anonymous gift is going to mean a great deal to the people of McDowell County for years to come," said Advisory Board Chair Joy Shuford. "Making a large, unrestricted gift to the principal of the endowment means that grants can be awarded to projects of highest need now and can continue to meet needs as they change over time. We are so thankful that this donor chose to support McDowell County in a permanent way."

In 22 years, the Endowment has awarded 117 grants to 50 organizations totaling $949,296. The agencies that have and will receive grants from the Endowment are nonprofit organizations in McDowell County that benefit McDowell County citizens. Recent grantees include New HOPE of McDowell, McDowell Technical Community College, Grace Baptist Church, Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity (to expand affordable housing services to McDowell County) and McDowell Mission Ministries.

To make a tax-deductible contribution to The McDowell Endowment, donate online or mail a contribution to The McDowell Endowment, P.O. Box 55, Marion, NC 28752-0055. Checks should be made out CFWNC, noting The McDowell Endowment in the memo line. Contributions of any size are welcome and will enable the Endowment to support more programs with local dollars.

The volunteer Advisory Board works to raise awareness of The McDowell Endowment and to build assets for the future. These board members are: G. Simeon Butler, Rebecca B. Cross, Simeon R. Cross, Marsh Dark, Juanita Doggett, W. Hill Evans, Nancy Hunter (Secretary), Michael Lavender, Ray McKesson (Vice Chair), Rob Noyes, Sharon L. Parker, Joy Q. Shuford (Chair) and Nancy Spencer.

CFWNC supports the growth of its affiliate funds to extend the benefits of philanthropy across the region.