You can make a difference in Yancey County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate. By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs.

Meet Howell Hammond

Beverly and Howell Hammond were first attracted by the mountains, the beautiful countryside and the mild summer climate in Yancey County. As each year has passed, they became more and more appreciative of the people, the history and the culture of arts and farming and interested in helping those in need and preserving the unique culture and the natural resources of the area. Howell generously included The Yancey Fund as a beneficiary of his IRA.

Yancey Big Sister Lori with her Little Sister Paisley. A $7,000 to Big Brothers Big Sisters of Western North Carolina (BBBSWNC) will support a volunteer mentor recruitment program. Photo courtesy of BBBSWNC.

How to Donate

Donate online or send a check made out to "CFWNC" with "Yancey Fund" in the memo line to the address below. (Please note that checks not made out to CFWNC may be returned.)

Mail checks to:

4 Vanderbilt Park Drive, Suite 300
Asheville, NC 28803

Memo: The Yancey Fund

Legacy Funders

Legacy Funders honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution. Legacy Funders of The Yancey Fund include:

  • Susan and Bubba (Paul) Crutchfield
  • Peg Emerson
  • Jim and Margie Haaga
  • Beverly S. Hammond
  • Howell A. Hammond
  • Rebecca and Jonathan (Jason) Warner
  • Jay “Skip” Wilson, Carol P. Wilson, Jay M. Wilson, II

Since 1998, The Yancey Fund, in partnership with The Community Foundation, has awarded 189 grants totaling $1,643,108.

Thanks to Our Donors (7/1/2022 - 06/30/2023)

  • Sylvia Archer
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jim Ashton
  • Mr. and Mrs. Ted Baker
  • Mr. Seth Banks and Dr. Gretchen Banks
  • Mrs. Rosemary B. Banks
  • Mr. and Mrs. Warren Bare
  • Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Barrus
  • Mr. and Mrs. Barry Bearden
  • Dr. Patricia R. Bennett
  • Dr. and Mrs. John Bevis
  • Mr. Peter Bobbe and Dr. Dorothy Bobbe
  • Mr. J. Sidney Boone, Jr.
  • Ms. Juanita Brown and Mr. David Isaacs
  • Dr. and Mrs. Jerry D. Cade
  • Clashmore Logistics, Inc.
  • Mr. and Mrs. Edward Feaver
  • Mr. and Mrs. Michael E. Fleenor
  • Mr. and Mrs. Todd Gatts
  • Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Gillespie
  • Dr. James A. Haaga
  • Ms. Carolyn E. Hackney
  • Mr. and Mrs. Robert H. Howell
  • Dr. Jennifer Larson
  • Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Matelski
  • Philip and Beca Mitchell
  • Mr. and Mrs. William Nagle
  • Mr. and Mrs. Randy Ollis
  • Mr. Calvin Rash
  • Mr. and Mrs. Fred D. Rickman Jr.
  • Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Sasek
  • Ms. Pat Sharkey and Mr. William Robertson
  • Ms. Shirley Sparr
  • Mr. Gregory Stella
  • Mr. and Ms. Mark Stella
  • Mrs. Margaret Farrell Tibbits
  • Ms. Kathleen Turczyn
  • Mr. Jonathan Ward
  • Ms. Kathy J. Weisfeld
  • Dr. Arch Woodard
  • Dr. and Mrs. Fred Young
  • Mr. Alan Young
  • Anonymous

Contact Melissa Edgington for more information about the Foundation’s Affiliate Program.