The Fund for Mitchell County Awards Grants Totaling $35,500

(March 2022) – The Fund for Mitchell County awarded ten grants totaling $35,500 to Mitchell County nonprofits in its recent grant cycle. The Fund for Mitchell County, CFWNC, has awarded grants totaling $779,609.

“Mitchell County nonprofits undertake important, front-line work in our community and have addressed numerous challenges over the last two years,” said Advisory Board Chair Nick Joerling. “These organizations see a need and work to address it. We are grateful to our donors who have built a permanent charitable resource to support local programs with local dollars.”

The 2022 grants are:

$4,000 to Altapass Foundation to purchase signage, benches and plant identifiers for its pollinator garden.

$2,000 to Appalachian Therapeutic Riding Center for eight children from low-income families to attend a summer camp program.

$2,500 to Big Brothers Big Sisters of Western North Carolina to support ongoing volunteer mentor recruitment.

$3,000 to High Country Caregiver Foundation to hire a professional guide to lead a nature adventure pilot program for teenagers being raised by grandparents.

$1,800 to Mayland Community College Foundation for an outdoor movie community event.

$5,000 to Mitchell County Animal Rescue to provide no-cost spay and neuter surgeries and vaccinations for pets from low-income families.

$2,200 to Mitchell Giving Gardens to grow fresh vegetables for people who rely on emergency food assistance.

$5,000 to Neighbors Feeding Neighbors Food Ministry to provide personal care items to low-income families.

$5,000 to Pisgah Legal Services for free civil legal assistance and advocacy for low-income residents.

$5,000 to Spruce Pine United Methodist Church to provide equipment, transportation, curriculum and snacks for students participating in its afterschool program.

In 1999, local residents established The Fund for Mitchell County as a permanent charitable endowment to meet local needs. Gifts added to the Fund’s principal are preserved and invested, while grants from the Fund support nonprofits in Mitchell County. To make a tax-deductible contribution, donate online or by mail c/o CFWNC, 4 Vanderbilt Park Drive, Suite 300, Asheville NC 28803. Make checks payable to CFWNC, noting “The Fund for Mitchell County” in the memo line. Contributions of any size are welcome.

The local volunteer Advisory Board includes: Beverly Ayscue, Robin Buchanan, Christopher Day, Janie DeVos, Kathryn Hollifield, Stuart Jensen, Nick Joerling (Chair), George Nero, Suzanne B. Russell, Brenda Sparks and Diane Walker.

For more information about The Fund for Mitchell County, contact Advisory Board Chair Nick Joerling at or 828-460-0329.