The Fund for Mitchell County Awards Grants Totaling $25,970

(March 2020) – The Fund for Mitchell County awarded eight grants totaling $25,970 to Mitchell County nonprofits in its recent grant cycle. The Fund for Mitchell County, in partnership with CFWNC, has awarded 96 grants totaling more than $726,519.

“The Fund for Mitchell County is here to support nonprofits by providing local dollars for local programs,” said Advisory Board Chair Nick Joerling. “Especially now, when the COVID-19 pandemic is changing demands on organizations, these permanent charitable resources devoted to supporting Mitchell County nonprofits are crucial. These awards are possible because people who care about this community built a fund over time to help in challenging situations. These grants support important community organizations as they continue the work we all depend on them to do.”

The 2020 grants are:

$2,020 to Appalachian Therapeutic Riding Center

$2,500 to Mitchell County Animal Rescue

$4,000 to Mitchell County Shepherd's Staff

$2,500 to Neighbors Feeding Neighbors Food Ministry

$5,000 to Pisgah Legal Services

$2,500 to Tipton Hill Community Foundation

$3,450 to Toe River Aggregation Center Training Organization Regional (TRACTOR)

$4,000 to WAMY Community Action

In 1999, local residents established the Fund for Mitchell County as a permanent charitable endowment to meet local needs. Gifts added to the Fund’s principal are preserved and invested, while grants from the Fund support nonprofits in Mitchell County. To make a tax-deductible contribution, donate online or by mail to The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina, P.O. Box 1101, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-1101, memo line: The Fund for Mitchell County. Contributions of any size are welcome.

The local volunteer Advisory Board includes: Nick Joerling (Chair), Beverly Ayscue, Robin Buchanan, Christopher Day, Janie DeVos, Kathryn Hollifield, George Nero, Becky Plummer, Brandon Roberts, and Brenda Sparks.

For more information about The Fund for Mitchell County, contact Advisory Board Chair Nick Joerling at or 828-765-5392.