The Fund for Haywood County Announces $67,669 in Grants

(March 2020) – The Fund for Haywood County and the J. Aaron and Adora H. Prevost Endowment Fund awarded twelve grants in its recent grant cycle. A grant from the Mib and Phil Medford Endowment Fund, for beautification, streetscape improvements and other public amenities in Waynesville, made one grant bringing total grantmaking in Haywood County to $67,669. Since 1994, The Fund for Haywood County, in partnership with CFWNC, has awarded grants totaling $1,171,688.

“The Fund for Haywood County is here to support nonprofits by providing local dollars for local programs,” said Advisory Board Chair Christine Mallette. “Especially now, when the COVID-19 pandemic is changing demands on organizations, these permanent charitable resources devoted to supporting Haywood County nonprofits are crucial. These awards are possible because people who care about this community built a fund over time to help in challenging situations. These grants support important community organizations as they continue the work we all depend on them to do.”

The 2020 grants are:

$3,240 to Asheville-Buncombe Community Christian Ministry

$2,500 to Children's Cancer Partners of the Carolinas

$2,500 to Clothes To Kids of Haywood County

$7,000 to Community Kitchen

$5,100 to Fines Creek Community Association

$2,500 to Girls on the Run of WNC

$5,000 to Haywood Community College

$3,239 to Haywood Pathways Center

$7,000 to KARE (Kids Advocacy Resource Effort)

$4,500 to Plains United Methodist

$4,000 to The Salvation Army, Waynesville Corps

$7,000 to Vecinos Farmworker Health Program

$14,090 to Town of Waynesville from the Mib and Phil Medford Endowment Fund

In 1994, local residents established The Fund for Haywood County as a permanent charitable endowment to meet local needs. Gifts added to the Fund’s principal are preserved and invested, while grants from the Fund support nonprofits in Haywood County. To make a tax-deductible contribution, donate online or by mail to P.O. Box 627, Waynesville, NC 28786-0627. Make checks payable to CFWNC, noting “Fund for Haywood County” in the memo line. Contributions of any size are welcome.

The local volunteer Advisory Board includes: Adam Bridges, Kim Ferguson, Jeff Haynes, Anna Jorstad, Christine Mallette (Chair), Scott McLeod, Steve McNeil, Carol Peterson, Jonathan Song, Mathew Underwood and Sarah Wenzel.