Yates L. and Louise D. Holland Scholarship

Yates L. and Louise D. Holland were Rutherford County natives who moved to Randolph County in 1941 but returned to Rutherford County in 1977 when they retired. Mr. Holland was Principal of Randolph County's Franklinville School for 33 years, and he and Mrs. Holland were always interested in school, community, church, and family issues. They stressed service and devotion to God and country. Mr. Holland held a bachelor's degree and master's degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and he and Mrs. Holland recognized the importance of higher education. The family of Yates L. and Louise D. Holland established this scholarship fund in their honor.


One-time $2,000

Number Of Awards

One Award


Jan. 22, 2024


Graduating seniors of Eastern Randolph High School or East Rutherford High School with a preference for students who will attend UNC-Chapel Hill.

CFWNC ensures that all scholarship recipients are selected on an objective and nondiscriminatory basis and that selections are based on specific guidelines and criteria for each fund.

Selection Criteria

  • Good moral character
  • Financial need
  • Academic achievement/ability (as measured by GPA and standardized test scores)
  • Community service (outstanding contributions to school and community)
  • Work experience
  • Extracurricular activities
  • Within the online application, you will be asked to submit a 150-word essay explaining what it means to you to be an American

To Apply

To apply, students must complete an application online. The application, with required attachments, must be submitted online on or before the deadline. Award Year 2024 closed.

Application Procedure

The scholarship program is administered by The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina. Please direct any questions about this scholarship to the foundation, at scholarships@cfwnc.org.

Return to Scholarship Directory