WNC Regional Scholarships

COMMUNITY FOUNDATION FUND FOR SCHOLARSHIPS was established in 2007 to serve WNC students by assisting with their college education.

NELLE CROWELL FLETCHER AND G. L. CROWELL FUND was established in 2001 to provide scholarships to WNC students.

NEWTON ACADEMY-FORSTER/STEVENS SCHOLARSHIP FUND is a gift to the students of Western North Carolina from the trustees of Newton Academy. In 1990, the trustees gave Asheville's Newton School to The Community Foundation to be used for educational purposes. This property had been the site of a number of schools and academies since 1793. Proceeds from the sale of the school support these annual scholarships.

LUCIUS LANIER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND was established in 2002 to provide scholarships to WNC students.

FRANCES M. MILLER CHARITABLE FUND was established in 2017 to provide scholarships to WNC students.

CLYDE & MILDRED WRIGHT ENDOWMENT FUND was established in 1995 to assist students throughout our mountain region with the soaring costs of higher education. The Wrights created these scholarships to encourage and assist students motivated to reach their full potential through education.

ADELAIDE C. MCKELVEY SCHOLARSHIP FUND was established in 1994 to provide scholarships to WNC students.

JOHN H. AND FRANCES A. KILLIAN SCHOLARSHIP FUND was established in 2021 to support students in Macon County and will award through WNC Regionals.

WILLIAM GARRETT WOOD SCHOLARSHIP FUND was established in 2021 to support students in Yancey County and will award through WNC Regionals.


$1,000; recipients create a pool from which finalists are selected to interview for several renewable scholarships, worth up to $5,000 per year for four years

Number Of Awards

One Award per Qualifying School


Jan. 22, 2024


Residency requirement: Graduating seniors from each public high school or certified home school in the 18 western counties:

Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey

In addition to meeting the residency requirement, applicants must be graduating seniors of a qualifying school defined as follows: a WNC public high school, the NC School of Science and Mathematics, the UNC School of the Arts, or a WNC home school registered with the North Carolina Division of Non-Public Education. For the purposes of this scholarship program, all WNC home schools will be considered collectively as one qualifying school and will have one finalist among them, who will then advance to compete with finalists from other schools.

CFWNC ensures that all scholarship recipients are selected on an objective and nondiscriminatory basis and that selections are based on specific guidelines and criteria for each fund.

Selection Criteria

  • Legal residence within the 18 counties of Western North Carolina (listed above)
  • Proven academic ability/achievement (based on GPA and SAT or ACT test scores)
  • Demonstrated financial need
  • Involvement in community service (school and community), extracurricular activities, and/or work experience
  • Strong moral character

To Apply

To apply, students must complete an application online. The application, with required attachments, must be submitted online on or before the deadline. Award Year 2024 closed.

Application Procedure

The scholarship program is administered by The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina. Please direct any questions about this scholarship to the Foundation's Scholarship Officer, Lezette Parks, at parks@cfwnc.org.

Return to Scholarship Directory